Reading Time:

2 minutes

A Gluten-Free Diet is Not Good for Everyone

When someone is diagnosed with celiac disease, there must be a radical change in dietary habits. Gluten intolerance forces patients to be extra careful with what they eat. The first thing we should know is that gluten is a part of a group of small proteins found in wheat and its variants, such as oats, rye, semolina, spelt, barley or khorasan wheat (kamut).

This diet should only be practiced if the person has actually been diagnosed with celiac disease, it is not a recommended diet for healthy people. So, a doctor’s recommendation to commence this diet is extremely important.

For a few years gluten free (gluten free) diets have been very fashionable despite many of those people not suffering from any intolerance. However, this shouldn’t be done, since eliminating whole grains from the diet without having to do so leaves us leads to lack of fiber and diminished cardiac protections. In addition, some people decide to use gluten free products as a substitute, believing that they are healthier, but sometimes those gluten free products may contain more fats and sugars.

Gluten-Free Foods that a Celiac can Consume

These foods do not contain gluten by nature and are therefore not a problem for a person with celiac disease to consume:

– Milk and derivatives: cheese spreads without flavors, cottage cheese, cream, natural yogurts and curd.

– All kinds of meats and fresh viscera.

– Eggs

– Vegetables and fruits.

– Legumes and rice.

– Sugar and honey

– Oils and solid fats.

– Coffee, tea infusions and soft drinks.

– Wines and sparkling beverages.

Gluten Free Foods that a Celiac Should Avoid

– Bread, wheat flour, barley, rye and any food that has any of these ingredients such as buns, cakes, pies, cookies, biscuits or pastry products.

– Pasta like macaroni or noodles also contain gluten.

– Distilled or fermented beverages from cereals: beer, barley water.

– Dairy with cereals and cake

When you go to the supermarket for groceries it is essential to read the labels and ingredients of the products that you are going to buy to make sure they do not have gluten. Also, avoid buying bulk products that do not have labels so that you don’t get stuck with so much quantity of a product that you cannot even ingest. For products that are neither certified nor labeled “gluten-free”, it is crucial to read the list of ingredients for products to avoid, as listed above.

If you are not sure of the ingredients of a product, you should simply avoid it and find a similar one that is label-certified gluten-free. To facilitate the transition to gluten-free diets, nutritionists recommend organizing a proper weekly menu, in addition to writing a shopping list.

Leave a Reply

If you would also like a response sent to your email please add it in the email box below.